Of Blurred Faces And Old Photographs

Do I ever cross your mind? Do you ever happen to think about that one random person you saw on the street today and imagine how their life is? Do you look at your old pictures and try to remember the blurred faces in the background?

I do that. A lot.

At times I happen to take out junior high photos and I happen to look at them for long. I see the camera focused on a few, leaving the rest of the people out of the view. But do they really go out of the picture? No, they don’t. They are the ones who make the picture truly beautiful. Even though you don’t remember them, they have graced a moment of your life. The people in the background or behind the stage aren’t necessarily people who like to remain there. They want to come out and shine, but they wait. They wait for their turn. So they become the “unnecessary” people in the background.

It makes me wonder about the many lives I’ve been a part of. Maybe I played a small role, but I was there.

I don’t even remember the people who had been around me when I was in “focus”. True, no one remembers the background people, unless they are in the same place.