Of Conversations With A Stranger

The Park was her favourite place. She could sit there for hours and not utter a word. It was not as if she was some pathetic, unsocial being. She adored solitude. She would read a book and listen to her favourite playlist. She would gaze at the blue sky, sometimes mating with the grey clouds, and she would smile. She would look at the birds flying and grin to herself. The wind would soothingly caress her and she would close her eyes.

She didn’t prefer company. She liked spending time with herself. But, well, it was a public place and she possibly couldn’t deny anybody to sit beside her. But, this particular day was not just any day.

She wanted him to leave the place as soon as possible. There was this particular time she loved and she could not bear the idea of some stranger taking it away from her.

“Ma’am, do you mind if I ask you something?”

“Yes?”

“I watch you sitting here and doing the exact same things almost everyday. Are you okay?”

She was taken aback. Somebody actually noticed her everyday. And more than that, because nobody ever asked her if she was okay. She didn’t know what she was supposed to tell. She stammered, “Yes, I am fine. Thank you”.

“I am not so sure if I should be saying this but something pricks me when you eat the cupcakes alone”.

“Sir, it is really nice of you to care. I could share the cupcakes if you feel so bad for them”. What on earth did she say? She should have been sensitive about this. But, she doesn’t even know him. So, she decided to smile to neutralise the whole situation.

“Honestly, I’m worried about you. I don’t want to sound creepy but you deserve good”.

“You don’t even know me. Let’s not get there”.

“I don’t. But, I would like to. May I?”

5 thoughts on “Of Conversations With A Stranger”

Leave a Reply

